RAIN OF PROMOTION IN POLICE: Owohunwa, Longe, others promoted AIG’s as PSC elevates 5,718 officers

Spread the love

Lagos State Commissioner of Police, Idowu Owohunwa and his Osun State counterpart, Kehinde Longer are among 5, 718 police officers elevated by the Police Service Commission (PSC) in a major rain of promotion.

The PSC approved the promotion of the 5,718 senior Police Officers comprising both General duty and specialists cadres of the Force.

The Commission also approved the promotion of twelve Commissioners of Police to the next rank of Assistant Inspectors General of Police, AIG; Nineteen  Deputy Commissioners of Police, DCPs to the substantive rank of Commissioners and twenty one Assistant Commissioners of Police, ACPs to the next rank of Deputy Commissioners. Thirty three Chief Superintendents of Police, CSPs were also elevated to Assistant Commissioners.

According to spokesman of the commission, Ikechukwu Ani, “The Commission further approved the promotion of 265 Superintendents of Police to Chief Superintendents; fifty nine Deputy Superintendents to Superintendents and 4750 Assistant Superintendents  and another 146 Assistant Superintendents omitted during the May 2022 promotion exercise elevated to Deputy Superintendents.

“For the Specialists cadre, the Commission approved the promotion of two Assistant Commissioners of Police; one from Airwing and the other Forensic to the next rank of Deputy Commissioners; 47 CSPs comprising 23 Medical Doctors and 24 Veterinary Doctors were promoted to the rank of Assistant Commissioners of Police.

“One hundred and Ninety Superintendents of Police from the Computer Info- Tech Unit; another eight from Works; one workshop; twelve transport; two forensic; two handwriting; one ballistcs; one religion and one Veterinary Doctor were also promoted.

“Forty seven Specialists of Assistant Superintendents of Police rank and of different Units were promoted to Deputy Superintendents.

“The PSC Chairman charged the newly promoted Officers  to embrace a new policing culture  that is hinged on  people friendly approach that respects the fundamental rights of the citizens and warned that they should desist from involving themselves in civil matters or trumping up false allegations  against  the public “as such conduct will not make them win the hearts  and minds of the people which will deprive them of credible information  from public spirited individuals  when dealing with internal security issues.”


Dr. Arase commended the Inspector General of Police for collaborating with the Commission in ensuring that for the first time in a very long while, the promotions have permeated  all the departments of the Force.


“This singular act I hope will motivate the workforce  to give back their best in ensuring that issues of crimes and criminality  are properly  dealt with”. He said.


He reminded them that they should remember  that benefits and  burden go together adding that the good gesture  of promoting them to the next rank should be a motivation  that will  ignite the indomitable fighting spirit ” which the Police have been  known for throughout the years”.


According to the PSC Chairman, while the Commission pushes for an improved welfare for the Officers, they should reciprocate by conducting themselves within established laws and rules guiding the Police Force.


Dr. Arase  noted that as they go about their  policing duties, the Commission wishes them God’s protection  at all times ” and let them be reassured that their interests  will be paramount to the Commission “.


The twelve Commissioners of Police promoted to Assistant Inspectors General of Police  are, Ogundele Joshua Ayodeji, CP Niger State; CP Patrick Ogon Edung, CP Courses Police Academy Wudil Kano; CP Badru Banji Lawal; Deputy Commandant, Police Academy Kano;  CP Bartholomew Nnamdi Onyeka; CP Benue State; CP Suleiman Yusuf; CP Taraba State; CP Idowu Owohunwa; CP Lagos State and CP Rhoda Adetutu Olofu; CP PAP Western Ports Lagos.


Others are CP Godwin N. Aghaulor; CMDT Police College Kaduna;  CP Effiom Emmanuel  Ekot CP Jigawa State;  CP Stanley  Kanayo-Chukwu Ude; CP Intelligence and Investigation, Interpol Abuja; CP Longe Kehinde Patrick; CP Osun State and CP Ndu Anene, CP Admin Research and Planning Force Headquarters.


The 19 newly  promoted Commissioners of Police are; DCP Shehu Kabir Abubakar; DCP Lawal Babatunde  Ayodeji; DCP Shelleng Umaru Yusuf; DCP Emmanuel Agene; DCP Alonyenu Francis Iduh; DCP Vungmoh S. Kwaimo; DCP Danjuma Aboki; DCP Jude Maduekwujolachi Azuka; DCP Dan-Sabo Idi; DCP Ibitoye Rufus Olajide and DCP Adamu Ngojin Isa.


Others are DCP Usman Hayatu; DCP Christopher  Ado Emmanuel; DCP Nwanosike Wodi Okocha; DCP Johnson  Oluwole Adenola; DCP Olanrewaju  Olawale Ishola; DCP Joseph Eribo; DCP Miller Gajere Dantawaye and DCP Henry Ifeanyi Uche.


The newly promoted Deputy

Commissioners include; Ime Udo Udofia, Isyaku Sharu; Benjamin Awor Abang; Mohammed Jika Abubakar; Mohammed Sanusi Ahmed; Dauda Iliya Ayuba; Moses Gana; Ikechukwu Emmanuel Nwosu; Promise Chinedu Udeh and Okey Nwabufo.


The new Assistant Commissioners are Jacob Nneji Egede; Godwin Chike Oti; Chike Jude Ibe; Daniel Okon Akpan and Michael Chukwu Mbatam amongst others.

ACP Inuwa Muhammed (Airwing) and ACP Agbo Usman were promoted to Deputy Commissioners  while CSP Okunbo Ruth Onyinmeare; Victor Efobi Iwuamadi; Adenuga Adeday Salami and Isibhakhomen Blessing  Ijiomah (medical Doctors) were some of the specialists promoted to the rank of Assistant Commissioners .

SPs Tina Amadi; Egbede Moses; Danjuma Dantani; Benjamin Kurya;

Hussaine Abdullahi; Mba Nnamdi Bartholomew; John Chima Ayah; Sanusi Danlami; Asinim Butswat, Police Public Relations Officer Bayelsa state;  Command; Dieke Nneka Josephine; Mohammed Iya Musa; Idris Mohammed Gumel and Ernest Abia were some of the Superintendents promoted to Chief Superintendents of Police.  DSP Isah Abubakar was promoted to the next rank of Superintendent while ASP Kingsley Ani and Shehu Salisu were promoted to Deputy Superintendents amongst several others.


The Commissioners of Police and Deputies appeared before the Commission for promotion interview a condition precedent for their promotions.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here